Windows Backup 0x81000031 when using TrueCrypt

TrueCrypt can cause problems when your libraries are stored on a TrueCrypt encrypted partition. In my case, my System partition (C:) is fully encrypted and so is my Data partition (D:). My data partition is a System Favourite and is mounted during boot phase.

However, when running Windows Backup I get the following cryptic error message:

0x81000031 error in Windows Backup
0x81000031 error in Windows Backup

The Microsoft KB article gives a slight hint to what caused this problem, but it’s far from obvious.

If you look at the target locations for the back-up you see that the Data partition (D:) is missing. For some reason, Windows Backup has a different method for discovering partitions and this method can’t see the encrypted partition. As a result, my Libraries aren’t availble to Windows Backup.

Data partition missing
Data partition missing

If have no idea how to fix it so I moved my data back to the System partition… If anyone has a better solution, feel free to share 😉

Leave a Reply

