J-ExifTool v0.0.1

Today I’ve released the first version of J-ExifTool together with its source code on BitBucket.  It’s the first version and it’s still very, very beta so I won’t guarantee that it’ll work flawlessly but if you find any bugs, please let me know and I’ll do my best to fix them 🙂 .

The only prerequisites are that you have ExifTool by Phil Harvey installed somewhere on your computer and that you point towards it via the exiftool.path system property (as explained on the wiki) . Also, obviously, you’ll need some other dependencies which I’ve kindly put in a zip for you (there are better ways I know, but the sun is shining and I’m not in the mood to find a better way atm 😛 ).

Reading and writing tags should now be as easy as

JExifTool tool = new JExifTool(); //starts exiftool process
JExifInfo info1 = tool.getInfo(new File("test-resources/read01.JPG")); // create proxy
System.out.println("ISO value is " +  info1.getTag(ExifIFD.ISO)); //execute read
System.out.println("Focal length changed to " + info1.setTag(ExifIFD.FOCALLENGTH, "5.0"));

For reference purposes only: git revision a2c4c7c5eb22 = v0.0.1 .

2 thoughts on “J-ExifTool v0.0.1

Comments are closed.